Find out about the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder elections, which are held every 2 years. The last one was on 17 October 2015, and the next one is scheduled for October 2017.

Local government elections, including the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, are held every 2 years.

12 Councillors and the Mayor are elected for overlapping 4-year terms, with 6 Councillors elected every 2 years and the Mayor every 4 years. This is to ensure good governance, as the Councillors who remain in their seats provide continuity for residents and rate payers.

The Mayor is elected by a City-wide popular vote and the Deputy Mayor is elected by Council.

Elections for the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder were first held in 1997, following the passing of the Local Government Act 1995, when 12 Councillors were elected—6 for 2-year terms and 6 for 4-year terms.

The current Council of the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder is composed of :

  • Mayor John Bowler (term ending 2019)
  • Deputy Mayor Allan Pendal (term ending 2017)
  • Councillor Deborah Botica (term ending 2017)
  • Councillor Lisa Malicky (term ending 2019)
  • Councillor Laurie Ayers (term ending 2017)
  • Councillor Mandy Reidy (term ending 2019)
  • Councillor Gary Brown (term ending 2017)
  • Councillor Suzie Williams (term ending 2019)
  • Councillor Glenn Wilson (term ending 2019)
  • Councillor Natalie Coxon (term ending 2019)
  • Councillor Pam O'Donnell (term ending 2017)
  • Vacant (term ending 2019)
  • Vacant (term ending 2017)

The recent Local Government Elections were conducted by a postal vote and results declared on Saturday 17 October 2015.  A full list of the results can be accessed here.