Local government elections, including the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder, are held every 2 years. The next election will be held in October 2019.

12 Councillors and the Mayor are elected for overlapping 4-year terms, with 6 Councillors elected every 2 years and the Mayor every 4 years. This is to ensure good governance, as the Councillors who remain in their seats provide continuity for residents and rate payers.

The Mayor is elected by a City-wide popular vote and the Deputy Mayor is elected by Council.

Elections for the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder were first held in 1997, following the passing of the Local Government Act 1995, when 12 Councillors were elected— 6 for 2-year terms and 6 for 4-year terms.
Current Council
The current Council of the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder is composed of:

Mayor John Bowler (term ending 2023)
Deputy Mayor Lisa Malicky (term ending 2023)
Councillor Deborah Botica (term ending 2023)
Councillor Laurie Ayers (term ending 2021)
Councillor Mandy Reidy (term ending 2023)
Councillor Gary Brown (term ending 2021)
Councillor Glenn Wilson (term ending 2023)
Councillor Pam Townsend (term ending 2021)
Councillor Nardia Turner (term ending 2021)
Councillor Linden Browley (term ending 2021)
Councillor David Grills (term ending 2023)
Councillor Terrence Winner (term ending 2023)
Councillor John Matthew (term ending 2023)

The 2019 Local Government Elections were conducted by a postal vote and results declared on Saturday 19 October 2019.  
The City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder Extraordinary Election was conducted by postal vote and results declared on Saturday 13 March 2020.
Enrolling to Vote in a Local Government Election
All eligible electors must enrol to vote. When you enrol to vote, you are enrolled for Commonwealth, State and local government elections. You can check your enrolment online.

All residents in a local government district who are enrolled on the State Electoral Roll are automatically enrolled on the corresponding local government roll. People who own or occupy property within a local government district, can apply to their local government to be included on the roll as an owner/occupier, as long as they are eligible electors. A body corporate may apply to have up to two eligible electors to be included on the owner/occupier roll.

All eligible electors are allowed to vote once in any district or ward for which they are enrolled. If a person lives within one local district or ward, and owns or occupies property in a different district or ward, they may be entitled to a vote in both areas, provided they are enrolled for those addresses. For more information or to enrol as an owner/occupier, the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder.
Information for Candidates
For more information on local government elections, or to register for the candidate information session, contact the City on 9021 9600.

Attending the candidate information session does not exempt candidates from completing the compulsory online Local Government Candidate Induction, which can be found at https://www.dlgsc.wa.gov.au.