2017 Tidy Towns Award

2017 Tidy Towns Award

Kalgoorlie-Boulder is this year's State Tidy Towns Sustainable Communities Award winner. 

It is the first time Kalgoorlie-Boulder has won the top prize in the 48-year history of Tidy Towns in Western Australia.

Kalgoorlie-Boulder's Urban Landcare Group co-ordinated several of the major projects in the town including the Williamstown (East Kalgoorlie) cactus eradication project - an interagency collaboration to remove a staggering 750 tonnes of invasive cactus plants from the area.

The town installed a 120kW solar photovoltaic system at Kalgoorlie-Boulder's airport - adding to the 80kW solar system recently installed on the roof of the Goldfields Arts Centre.

Kalgoorlie-Boulder also carried out a successful bin tagging trial - marking recycling bins with incorrect contents and providing follow up advice to householders. The trial almost halved the number of non-recyclable items in the community's recycling bins.

The Community Action and Wellbeing Category award also went to Kalgoorlie-Boulder for its Heartwalk public art project. Twenty large scale murals by local and professional artists were painted throughout the town in a bid to revitalise the central business district. 



Kim Eckert, CEO Kalgoorlie-Boulder Urban Landcare Group (KBULG), John Bowler, Mayor Kalgoorlie-Boulder and Hon. Kerry Sanderson, Governor of Western Australia