18-01Australia Day Awards

Australia Day Award Winners and Walk of Fame Inductees

18-01Australia Day Awards The winners of the 2018 Australia Day Awards and inductees to the Walk of Fame were announced by Mayor John Bowler at the Australia Day Festival.

Mayor Bowler said the judging panel were impressed by the quality of nominations for this year’s Awards.
“It’s a positive reflection on the community to see the outstanding nominees and the contribution they make to Kalgoorlie-Boulder,” he said.
“I’m very proud to present the Australia Day Awards and recognise the efforts of all groups and individuals nominated.
“The nominations for the Walk of Fame this year were also of a very high standard, and I am very pleased to announce that we will be announcing more inductees in separate ceremonies later this year as part of the 125th Anniversary Celebrations of Kalgoorlie.”
Goldfields Pipeline Marathon
The Goldfields Pipeline Marathon is a yearly event that brings a large number to the town. The event has full marathon, half marathon and 10km fun run with over 300 taking part in the event along with a large number of volunteers.
Mrs Kate Stokes
Mrs Kate Stokes has been a driving force behind Australia’s premiere mining forum, Diggers and Dealers, since its inception.  Initially supporting her late husband, Geoffrey Stokes, Kate took over ownership of the iconic Diggers and Dealers in 1997, and has spent the past 10 years working hard to see her husband’s dream come to fruition.

Mr Doug Daws, OAM and Mr Graham McGarry
Mr Doug Daws and Mr Graham McGarry have volunteered their time selflessly to see the Goldfields Masonic Homes Masonic Killarney Village project, comprising of 49 new units,
come to fruition. Doug and Garry have been driven from day one of the project, and were successful in getting $9.8million funding through Royalties for Regions to help build the units and address the waiting list of more than 100 people at Goldfields Masonic Homes.
Three Walk of Fame recipients were honoured for 2018.
Ross Rogers, OAM
Ross Rogers made many and ongoing contributions to the community and quality of life in Kalgoorlie-Boulder, and was a passionate advocate for tourism, heritage, arts and culture in our City. He was the Vice President for many years at the Goldfields Repertory Club, Life Member at the Kalgoorlie Chamber of Commerce, co- founder of Goldfields Medical Fund and founder of the Goldfields Travel Association. This is only a few of what Ross has contributed to Kalgoorlie-Boulder.  Ross was awarded OAM in 2011 for his service to the community of the Kalgoorlie Region.
Professor Barry Marshall
Professor Barry Marshall is known around the world for his discoveries regarding the cause of Peptic Ulcers. His bold self-experimentation led to the complete change in the treatment of the condition world-wide. In 2005 Professor Barry Marshall was awarded the Nobel Prize for Medicine for his ground breaking research with Robin Warren, AC into Helicobactor pylori, challenging decades of medical doctrine.
Charles Cooke Hunt
Charles Cooke Hunt mapped the area now known as the Eastern Goldfields from 1864 to 1866. ‘Hunts Track’ with its life giving watering points spaced along its route allowed prospectors and explorers to travel into the heart of the Eastern Goldfields.
The Walk of Fame plaques will be laid in a small ceremony at 9am on Saturday, 27 January 2018 between 103 (ECOmaniac store) and 127 (the Kalgoorlie Miner) Hannan Street.