

MINUTES

of the SPECIAL Meeting of Council held at 6:30PM

on

21 OCTOBER, 2019

at the

Kalgoorlie Town Hall

Table of Contents

ltem	Subject	Page No
1	DECLARATION OF OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS1	
2	RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABS (PREVIOUSLY APPROVED)	-
3	INDUCTION AND DECLARATIONS OF MAYOR/COUNCIL ELECT	
3.1	MAYOR ELECT TO MAKE DECLARATION	2
3.2	COUNCILLORS ELECT TO MAKE DECLARATION	2
3.3	NEW COUNCILLORS SEATED	2
3.4	RESPONSE BY COUNCILLORS	2
4	ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR	3
4.1	CALL FOR NOMINATIONS	3
4.2	STATEMENT BY EACH NOMINEE	3
4.3	ELECTION BY SECRET BALLOT	3
4.4	RESPONSE BY DEPUTY MAYOR	3
5	RETIRING ELECTED MEMBERS	4
5.1	THANK YOU BY MAYOR	4
5.2	RESPONSE BY RETIRING MEMBERS	4
6	CLOSURE	4

1 DECLARATION OF OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

The Chief Executive Officer (CEO), John Walker, declared the meeting open at 6:30pm welcoming the gallery and those present.

2 RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE (PREVIOUSLY APPROVED)

IN ATTENDANCE:

Mayor (Elect) John Bowler (Chairman following swearing in) Cr Laurie Ayers Cr Gary Brown Cr Pam Townsend Cr Nardia Turner Cr Linden Brownley

COUNCILLORS (ELECT):

Cr Deborah Botica Cr Lisa Malicky Cr Mandy Reidy Cr Glenn Wilson Cr David Grills Cr Robert Hicks Cr Terrence Winner

MEMBERS OF STAFF:

Mr John Walker	Chief Executive Officer
Mr Stuart Devenish	General Manager Infrastructure & Environment
Ms Holly Phillips	General Manager City Living
Ms Michelle Todd	Manager Governance & Legal Services
Ms Joanne Slattery	Marketing Officer

VISITORS:

45

PRESS:

2

APOLOGIES – ELECTED MEMBERS:

Nil.

3 INDUCTION AND DECLARATIONS OF MAYOR/COUNCILLORS ELECT

3.1 MAYOR ELECT TO MAKE DECLARATION

The CEO called upon Mayor Elect John Bowler, congratulating him on his reappointment. The Mayor read the oath to the CEO and Chamber and signed the declaration. He was bestowed the chain of office and took his seat as Chair.

3.2 COUNCILLORS ELECT TO MAKE DECLARATION

The Councillors Elect each made their declaration in accordance with s2.29(1) of the *Local Government Act*, before the CEO in the following order:

Returned Councillor Deborah Botica

Returned Councillor Lisa Malicky

Returned Councillor Glenn Wilson

Returned Councillor Mandy Reidy

Councillor Elect Dave Grills

Councillor Elect Robert Hicks

Councillor Elect Terrence Winner

3.3 NEW COUNCILLORS SEATED

The members assumed their seats in accordance with the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder's Standing Orders Local Law.

3.4 RESPONSE BY COUNCILLORS

The Mayor and each newly elected Councillor made a verbal presentation to Council.

4 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

4.1 CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

The CEO confirmed written nominations from Councillor Lisa Malicky and Councillor Mandy Reidy had been received. He called for further nominations and confirmed any withdrawals must be received before the close of nominations.

Councillor Laurie Ayers nominated for the position of Deputy Mayor. No further nominations were received.

Councillor Mandy Reidy withdrew her nomination.

Nominations were announced by the CEO as closed following allowing time for final nominations to be received.

4.2 STATEMENT BY EACH NOMINEE

Each nominee made a verbal presentation to Council..

4.3 ELECTION BY SECRET BALLOT

In accordance with Schedule 2.3, Division 2 of *Local Government Act 1995*, ballot papers were distributed to each Elected Member. Once complete they were collected and formally counted by the General Manager City Living, Holly Phillips and General Manager Infrastructure and Environment, Stuart Devenish.

The CEO declared Councillor Malicky as Deputy Mayor until October 2023.

4.4 **RESPONSE BY DEPUTY MAYOR**

Deputy Mayor Lisa Malicky addressed Council, thanking those who voted for her and acknowledging Councillor Ayers for his nomination.

5 RETIRING ELECTED MEMBERS

5.1 THANK YOU BY MAYOR

Mayor Bowler acknowledged retiring Elected Members Allan Pendal, Suzie Williams and Natalie Coxon for their dedication and contribution in serving the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder. The Mayor acknowledged retiring Deputy Mayor Allan Pendal's long service to Council and the community.

The Mayor wished them every success with their future endeavours.

5.2 **RESPONSE BY RETIRING MEMBERS**

The retiring members present, Natalie Coxon and Suzie Williams addressed Council.

6 CLOSURE

There being no further business, the Mayor thanked everyone for their attendance and declared the meeting closed at 7:06pm.