The City Honoured Community Members this Australia Day

Published on Tuesday, 1 February 2022 at 11:26:21 AM

This past Wednesday 26 January 2022 The City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder honoured deserving community members at The Australia Day Awards Ceremony and Walk of Fame Induction.

Each year the City Mayor takes to the stage to give recognition to the Kalgoorlie-Boulder residents making a difference in the following categories:

  • Community Event or Group of the Year
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Citizen of the Year
  • And some years the Mayoral Award

This year, awarded for hosting the 2021 Annual State History Conference of Affiliated Societies the Eastern Goldfields Historical Society took home the Community Group or Event of the Year.

The event showcased Kalgoorlie-Boulder to over 150 attendees from all over Western Australia who enjoyed the rich history of the Goldfields at the Boulder Town Hall, The Palace Hotel, the Super Pit and the infamous bush Two Up school.

Accepting the Volunteer of the Year Award was Justine Warren nominated for her selfless volunteering of time to SAFE and the State Emergency Services.

Justine is a resident to look up to as she juggles full time work, young children, and her busing volunteering calendar.  

The Young Citizen of the Year Award went to Kalgoorlie Police cadet Ace Keirnan in recognition of being a positive role model for young people in Kalgoorlie-Boulder.

Ace is one of the youngest police cadets in the force and stands as encouraging example for young Aboriginal kids in the community. 

Taking home the Citizen of the Year award was Dr. Norma Latchford celebrated for her 20 year commitment to the Goldfields Repertory Club and her involvement in establishing the Miner’s Hall of Fame and the Visitors Centre.

Norma has been very vocal throughout her years about the importance of the arts in mining towns across Australia.

This year Mayor John Bowler opted to present his Mayoral Award to Allison and Nigel Hunter for their collective and individual dedication to the Kalgoorlie-Boulder community through various volunteering and sporting initiatives.

Residents may now the Hunter family for the organisation of the Kalgoorlie-Boulder Parkrun and the annual Relay for Life amongst many other initiatives.

Mayor Bowler said he looks forward to this event every year and was delighted with the high calibre of nominations.

“Thank you to those community members that donated their time to improv and support Kalgoorlie-Boulder and ensure the community comes together in a myriad of ways,” said Mayor Bowler.

Community members are encouraged to keep an eye out for individuals and groups in Kalgoorlie-Boulder that are going above and beyond this year and keep them in mind for next year’s awards.

In addition to the Australia Day Awards, each year the Walk of Fame committee votes on the new inductees to the Hannan St Walk of Fame. The nominees for this auspicious recognition are people who have dedicated a lifetime of support and work to the Goldfields region, helping to better economic and social aspects of Kalgoorlie-Boulder.

This year, William Liddicoat was inducted into the Walk of Fame for his lifelong commitment to the education of Kalgoorlie-Boulder students and the sporting initiatives he implemented in the community. His children and their children unveiled the plaque on Thursday 27 January 2022.

Alongside Mr. Liddicoat, Kalgoorlie-Boulder historian Tess Thomson was also inducted into the Walk of Fame for her life-long commitment to recording the history of Kalgoorlie-Boulder from the gold-rush days to the history of schools like Boulder PS and Kalgoorlie PS and even the Kalgoorlie Cemetery crematorium. Her relatives unveiled the plaque on Thursday 27 January 2022.

The new inductees’ plaques can be found outside The Beaten Track Brewery and Kitchen Emporium on Hannan St.

Back to All News