City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder Election Results Announced

Published on Monday, 23 October 2023 at 4:02:13 PM

The election of Glenn Wilson as Mayor of the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder was declared by the WA Electoral Commission this morning.

Receiving a total of 3458 votes, Mayor Wilson brings a wealth of experience and deep passion for the City. He is the fifth person to hold the office of Mayor since 1989 when the Town of Kalgoorlie and the Shire of Boulder amalgamated.

Mr Wilson has served on Council for eight years, the last two as Deputy Mayor. He holds a longstanding reputable career in radio and works closely with local businesses and the mining and resources sector.

Councillors Deborah Botica, Kirsty Dellar, Wayne Johnson and Terrence Winner have all been re-elected, welcoming four new Councillors to join them - Linden Brownley, Carla Viskovich, Nardia Turner and Kyran O’Donnell.

Councillors Brownley, O’Donnell and Turner have all previously served on Council, with Councillor Viskovich serving for her first term.

There are now a total of nine Elected Members (including the Mayor), reduced from 13 as part of the State Government’s Local Government reforms.

The results at last count are as follows:

Mayoral Election

Glenn Wilson – 3458

Gloria Moyle – 2095

Linden Brownley – 690

Councillor Election

Following the distribution of preference votes, the following Councillors were elected for four and two-year terms:

Four-year term until 16 October 2027

Kyran O’Donnell

Kirsty Dellar

Linden Brownley

Wayne Johnson


Two-year term until 18 October 2025

Carla Viskovich

Terrence Winner

Deborah Botica

Nardia Turner

The new Council will decide who will become Deputy Mayor at tonight’s Special Council Meeting where all Elected Members will be officially sworn in.

City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder CEO, Andrew Brien welcomed the newly appointed Council and thanked all candidates for their dedication to the Kalgoorlie-Boulder community.

“Our new Council is a diverse, motivated and exceptional group of individuals, who together will bring our City to new heights.”

“It was fantastic to see so many passionate people stand as candidates, and I thank them for their willingness to serve the residents of our city.”

“I’d like to extend my gratitude to our outgoing Councillors, John Matthew, Suzie Williams, Mick Mckay, Amy Astill, David Grills, Mandy Reidy and Kim Eckert OAM. Also, to John Bowler for his contribution as the City’s Mayor for the last eight years.”

“We look forward to working with the newly elected Council and Mayor Wilson to bring their vision for the future of the City to fruition.”

This year’s election saw the introduction of optional preferential voting, as opposed to the previous first-past-the-post voting system, which ensures the candidates elected are more representative of the majority of voters.

More information including contact information for the new Elected Members will be available on the City’s website soon.


Pictured (left - right): Glenn Wilson, Kyran O'Donnell, Terrence Winner, Nardia Turner, Kirsty Dellar, Wayne Johnson, Deborah Botica, Carla Viskovich, Linden Brownley

Back to All News